English Players Who Won the Ballon d'Or

  • 1 Sir Stanley Matthews – (1956)

    Mathews who moved from Stoke City to Blackpool at the age of 32 proved age is just a number and helped Blackpool finish second of the 1955-56 league campaign for the first and only time in 120 years.

  • 2 Sir Bobby Charlton – (1966)

    Charlton won for his outstanding performance with England in the 1966 World Cup as well helping Manchester United humiliate Eusebio's Benfica (8-3 on aggregate) and reach the European semi-final for the first time since the Munich air disaster in 1958.

  • 3 Kevin Keegan – (1978 and 1979)

    Despite winning the league and the European titles in 1977, Keegan didn't win the Ballon d'Or with Liverpool, but with Hamburg. He won it first in 1978 then a year later after helping the Germans win their fourth league title and the first since 1960.

  • 4 Michael Owen – 2001

    Owen was Liverpool's leading goal scorer in 2000-01, helping them win the League Cup and the FA Cup and the UEFA Cup against Deportivo Alavés in a dramatic game. Owen's highlight of the season was scoring two late goals against Arsenal in May 2001 to help snap their sixth cup title.