German Players Who Won the Ballon d'Or

  • 1 Gerd Müller (1970)

    In 1970, Bundesliga finished as the top scorer for the second time in a row, won the European Golden Shoe with 42 goals in 38 club appearances and finished the year as the World Cup's top scorer with 10 goals in 6 games, a record no player has broken since then.

  • 2 Franz Beckenbauer (1972 and 1976)

    Beckenbauer reached the podium four times between 1972 and 1976 and won it twice. The first in 1972 when he captained West Germany to defeat the Soviet Union in the European finals, and the second was in 1976 after leading FC Bayern to their third consecutive European title over Saint-Etienne.

  • 3 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (1980 and 1981)

    Rummenigge was the third player to win the Ballon d'Or back to back in 1980 and 1981; the same years he topped the Bundesliga's goal-scoring list. Rummenigge also helped West Germany win their second European title, scoring the only goal in a crucial win over the former champions, Czechoslovakia.

  • 4 Lothar Matthäus (1990)

    Despite losing the Serie-A title to Maradona's and his Napoli mates, the West German captain got his revenge when he defeated Maradona's Argentine teammates in the 1990 World Cup final. Matthäus also won both the Onze and the World Soccer awards that year.

  • 5 Matthias Sammer (1996)

    Sammer's performance in 1996 made him one of the world's best defensive players. He started by helping Borussia Dortmund win the second of two back-to-back Bundesliga titles before maintaining 3 group-stage clean sheets in Euro 96 and scoring the quarter-finals winner over Croatia in Wembley.