Italian Players Who Won the Ballon d'Or

  • 1 Omar Sívori - 1961

    Upon arriving from Argentina in 1957, Sivori helped bring Juventus their first scudetti in six years. In 1961, Sivori helped Juve win the title over the two Milan-based teams. Sivori was their top scorer and finished two goals away from the Capocannoniere, Sergio Brighenti.

  • 2 Gianni Rivera - 1969

    Rivera won the Ballon d'Or after playing an important role in helping AC Milan win their second European Cup title over Benfica. Milan's captain also won his first Intercontinental cup after scoring against Estudiantes de La Plata, the 1969 Copa Libertadores winners.

  • 3 Paolo Rossi - 1982

    Only two months after ending his 2-year ban, Rossi was chosen as the World Cup's top scorer and MVP after scoring six knockout goals against Brazil (a hat-trick) and Poland (two) and West Germany (one), as Italy won its first title since 1938.

  • 4 Roberto Baggio - 1993

    Bagio reached his peak with Juventus in 1993 when he finished second on the league's scoring list (21 goals) before playing savior in Juve's European campaign by scoring all three goals in the 1993 UEFA Cup semi-final over PSG, followed by two away goals in the final against Borussia Dortmund.

  • 5 Fabio Cannavaro - 2006

    With Lilian Thuram, Cannavaro formed one of the strongest defensive lines in Europe, helping Juventus top the league table in 2006. Despite the Cacliopoli, Cannavaro kept a solid performance with Gianluca Zambrotta as the Italians conceded only two goals on their quest to win their 4th World Cup