Players Who Won the European Golden Shoe Twice or More

  • 1 Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal (4 times)

    Ronaldo is the only player to finish on top of Europe's goal-scoring list four times. He won the first in 2008 while playing for Manchester United and added 3 more titles (in 2011, 2014 and 2015) while playing for Real Madrid. 

  • 2 Lionel Messi – Argentina (3 times)

    Messi is the first player to win the European Golden shoe three times (2010, 2012 and 2013) all while playing for Barcelona.

  • 3 Gerd Müller – West Germany (twice)

    Muller is the first player to win the Golden Shoe twice (1970 and 1972) while playing for FC Bayern.

  • 4 Eusébio – Portugal (twice)

    Eusebio is the first to win the award in 1968 after scoring 42 league goals for Benfica. His second win came with the same team five years later in 1973.

  • 5 Dudu Georgescu – Romania (twice)

    Georgescu is the first Romanian player to win the Golden Shoe and the only one to do it twice in 1975 and 1977 both while playing for Dinamo Bucharest.

  • 6 Fernando Mendes Gomes – Portugal (twice)

    Gomes won the golden award twice (between 1982 and 1985) while playing for FC Porto.

  • 7 Ally McCoist – Scotland (twice)

    McCoist is the first Scottish player to win the golden award and the first player to ever win it on two consecutive occasions (1992 and 1993) while playing for Rangers FC.

  • 8 Mario Jardel – Brazil (twice)

    Jardel is the first Brazilian to win the Golden Shoe twice. The first was in 1999 while playing for Porto, while the second came three years later with Sporting Lisbon.

  • 9 Thierry Henry – France (twice)

    Henry is the only French player to win the Golden Shoe award. He did it twice while playing for Arsenal in 2004 and 2005.

  • 10 Diego Forlan – Uruguay (twice)

    Forlan is the first Uruguayan player to win the Golden Shoe with two teams. First Villareal in 2005 then Atletico Madrid in 2009