What happens when you accidentally send a friend request on facebook

    Edit article
    What happens when you accidentally send a friend request on facebook

  • 1 The user will be notified if they're active

    The person you accidentally sent the friend request to will be notified and they will see the notification if they're active at that time.

  • 2 They won't know if they're not active

    If the person isn't active at the time you sent the friend request, the notification will disappear if you cancel it and they won't see it.

  • 3 It can be cancelled

    A friend request can be cancelled by the person who sent it in case it was sent unintentionally. 

  • 4 The user won't know that you cancelled the request

    The person will not be notified if you decide to cancel the friend request after accidentally sending it. 

  • 5 They might get a notification on their phone

    If a person has notifications for friend requests enabled on their phones, they will get a notification that you sent them a friend request.

  • 6 They won't find the friend request

    If a person sees the notification that you sent them a friend request and you cancelled the request, they won't be able to see the request, accept or delete it.

  • 7 The notification will disappear when you cancel it

    After cancelling an accidental friend request, the notification will disappear from the user's devices. If they manage to see it before it disappears, it will disappear after they refresh the page.